Friday, September 25, 2009

Deo Gratias for Luke

Deo Gratias for Luke -
The composer Johannes Ockeghem's canon, Deo Gratias, is sung by nine choirs of four voices each. The formal structure of the work is intricate yet creates an incredibly haunting musical space.

Johannes Ockeghem was born in 1410 in Saint-Ghislain (now in Belgium) and died in Tours, France in 1497.

(Hat tip to Eamonn Fitzgerald)

No comments: